Skip to content
Back to News

Sony Music Entertainment releases Elvis Presley – I Believe – The Gospel Masters

Mar 03, 2009

This 4 disc set features the complete gospel recordings plus home recordings and live bonus tracks
On March 10, Elvis Presley – I Believe – The Gospel Masters box set will be released. This unique collection is a befitting tribute to Elvis Presley’s 3x Grammy Award-winning gospel and inspirational work. Discs 1 through 3 feature his entire non-secular studio masters in chronological order. Disc 4 covers the additional masters made for Elvis’ movies, his comeback TV special in 1968, and recordings made live on stage. Disc 4 also includes two segments of Elvis singing religious songs in a more informal setting. The first segment includes Elvis with J.D. Sumner and The Stamps relaxing at the end of a long day at RCA’s Hollywood studio on March 31, 1972. The final three recordings were done at his Los Angeles home in 1966, in preparation for the album HOW GREAT THOU ART.
This four discs set is remastered from the original tapes using the latest DSD technology for optimum sound quality.
As with his secular music, Elvis invented his own version of gospel, drawing from every element of his vast musical knowledge – without any musical prejudice or racial barriers. I BELIEVE – THE GOSPEL MASTERS offers the most comprehensive overview of Elvis’ non-secular performances and provides testament to Elvis’s musical excellence and his contribution to the popularization of religious music.

1. I Believe
2. (There’ll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
3. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
4. It Is No Secret (What God Can Do)
5. Milky White Way
6. His Hand In Mine
7. I Believe In The Man In The Sky
8. He Knows Just What I Need
9. Mansion Over The Hilltop
10. In My Father’s House
11. Joshua Fit The Battle
12. Swing Down, Sweet Chariot
13. I’m Gonna Walk Dem Golden Stairs
14. If We Never Meet Again
15. Known Only To Him
16.Crying In The Chapel
17.Working On The Building

1. Run On
2. How Great Thou Art
3. Stand By Me
4. Where No One Stands Alone
5. So High
6. Farther Along
7. By And By
8. In The Garden
9. Somebody Bigger Than You And I
10.Without Him
11. If The Lord Wasn’t Walking By My Side
12.Where Could I Go But To The Lord
13. You’ll Never Walk Alone
14. We Call On Him
15. Who Am I?

1. I Was Born About Ten Thousand Years Ago
2. Life
3. Only Believe
4. Amazing Grace
5. Lead Me, Guide Me
6. He Touched Me
7. I’ve Got Confidence
8. An Evening Prayer
9. Seeing Is Believing
10. A Thing Called Love
11. Put Your Hand In The Hand
12. Reach Out To Jesus
13. He Is My Everything
14. There Is No God But God
15. Bosom Of Abraham
16. I, John
17. I Got A Feelin’ In My Body
18. Help Me
19. If That Isn’t Love

1. Down By The Riverside/When The Saints Go Marchin’ In (from Frankie And Johnny)
2. Sing You Children (from Easy Come, Easy Go)
3. Swing Down, Sweet Chariot (from The Trouble With Girls)
4. Let Us Pray (from Change of Habit)
5. Gospel Medley: Where Could I Go But To The Lord/Up Above My Head/Saved (from the ’68 Comeback Special)
6. If I Can Dream (from the ’68 Comeback Special)
7. Why Me Lord (live)
8. How Great Thou Art (live)
9. Help Me (live)
Bonus tracks:
10. I, John (from Elvis On Tour)
11. Bosom Of Abraham (from Elvis On Tour)
12. You Better Run (from Elvis On Tour)
13. Lead Me, Guide Me (from Elvis On Tour)
14. Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus/Nearer My God To Thee (from Elvis On Tour)
15. Oh, How I Love Jesus (home recording)
16. Show Me Thy Ways, O Lord (home recording)
17. Hide Thou Me (home recording)

Share on Facebook

What do you think?

[fbcomments count="off" num="5"]